World Literacy Day 2017: UNESCO to give away Awards in the Ceremony


This Friday the world will be celebrating ‘The Literacy Day 2017’. And UNESCO is also ready to honour the laureates from various countries who have done a commendable job to deserve the Literacy Prizes.

The awards, namely UNESCO International Literacy Prizes will be awarded to Laureates from five countries, namely Canada, Colombia, Jordan, Pakistan and South Africa. The Laureates, representing each country, will be honored with a medal and the prize money.

This will be the 51st World Literacy Day, which the world will celebrate every year on 8th of September. Irina Bokova, Director-General, UNESCO, says, “Digital technologies permeate all spheres of our lives, fundamentally shaping how we live, work, learn and socialise”. This aims for a message of literacy in the Digital world.

“These new technologies are opening vast new opportunities to improve our lives and connect globally—but they can also marginalise those who lack the essential skills, like literacy, needed to navigate them.” added Bokova.

The prize distribution ceremony UNESCO will commence at 5PM this evening. Here are the International Literacy prizes to be awarded:

  1. UNESCO King Sejong Literacy Prize –

This Prize is given for mother-tongue literacy education and training. Sponsored by the Republic of Korea, it will be awarded to ‘Centre for the Study of Learning & Performance (CSLP)’ at Concordia University (Canada) for leveraging educational technology to develop essential educational Competencies in Sub-Saharan Africa project. The project develops and distributes its learning material internationally free of charge.

The second country to win the Prize is Jordan, for program ‘We Love Reading’. The programme offers online read-aloud trainings for parents and encourages volunteers to Read Aloud in public spaces to children and also endows reading material through its digital library.

  1. UNESCO Confucius Prize for Literacy

This prize is awarded to those who benefit rural populations and out-of-school youth, girls and women in particular. Funded by the Government of the People’s Republic of China, the prize will be awarded to three countries.

the first one being awarded to Armenia (Colombia) for ‘AdulTICoProgram of the Secretariat of Information and Communications Technologies’. The institution has been selected for teaching digital competencies to seniors.

The second one on the list is ‘The Citizens Foundation’ from Pakistan. The foundation runs ‘Aagahi Literacy Programme’ for women and out-of-school girls. It also provides teaching services to support the education of younger girls and older women in the country.

The third award will go to ‘FunDza’ program of South Africa for its readers and writers project, that focuses to develop a culture of reading and writing for pleasure. It works through an online platform that provides reading programs and writing competitions while bringing together readers and writers.

Congratulations to all the winners and we hope that they will always maintain their excellence of work in the coming future.

Share your thoughts

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reliance Jio At 1: Know 10 Inevitable Points About It.

Internet Is Full of Memes on Kangana’s Interview at Aap Ki Adalat